Real Madrid, Barcelona and Juventus are on the brink of expulsion from the Champions League

Real Madrid, Barcelona and Juventus will be disqualified from the Champions League due to their involvement in the European Premier League.

Last month’s attempt by 12 of Europe’s biggest clubs to break away from the Champions League to form their own Super League quickly fell apart.

Once the ‘big six’ of the Premier League withdrew, after tremendous fan pressure, it wasn’t long before La Liga and Serie A teams decided it wasn’t a good idea.

However, Real, Barca and Juve have remained true to their weapons, partly because Florentino Perez and Andrea Agnelli are so integral to the league’s content, and have so far refused to officially end their involvement.

That stubbornness is bound to result in great punishment. According to Cadena COPE in Spain, the trio will be expelled from the Champions League and be heavily fined by the European governing body.

The report says that Spain and Italy would not lose their place in the European club’s top competition next season and will instead be replaced by those players under the trio.

In Spain this would mean that Real Sociedad and Real Betis would take over from Los Blancos and Barcelona from September.

Juventus’ battle to get into the top four, which reached the final day, would have been completely useless and, in place of the Old Lady, Napoli would have entered the Champions League.

Gennaro Gattuso was sacked from Naples after taking the final day of the season in Verona and dropping out of the top four and has since taken over Fiorentina.

The report says the three sanctions could be ready to take the case to court for sports arbitration as they would certainly protest any decision to release them.

While the trio in the competition are about to receive a huge penalty, reports have indicated that the other nine teams will only be fined a percentage of the money from their forthcoming European campaigns.

A similar penalty should also be imposed on Manchester City, Manchester United, Liverpool, Chelsea, Tottenham Hotspur and Arsenal from the Premier League.

On Sunday, Liverpool and Chelsea confirmed that they will be following two Manchester clubs in the next Champions League, while Spurs will play in the first year of the Europa Conference League.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *