Former Tottenham Hotspur players have won 116 trophies since leaving since Spurs last won anything

Etienne Capoue and Juan Foyth’s victory for Villarreal in the Europa League makes for 116 occasions where the former Tottenham Hotspur player has won something since the club last won.

Spurs won the League Cup in 2008 when Jonathan Woodgate’s extra-time goal gave them a 2-1 victory over Chelsea.

It was not the stepping stone to a successful period in North London that their fans would have hoped for and yet to win a trophy since.

The club has had many talented players since 2008 and reached the finals, including the Champions League in 2019 and the Carabao Cup this year, and some of those players have won silverware since 2008, but not with ‘ the club of course.

A number of numbers have reached the rounds, but one fan found that former Tottenham players had won 114 trophies in the last 13 years, just before Capoue and Foyth got their hands on the Europa League.

Luka Modric and Gareth Bale obviously won most of those players’ trophies, with the two Real Madrid players racking up 29 of the 116 among them.

The two have won La Liga on three occasions since moving to Spain and have also won four incredible Champions League titles, including the unprecedented three in a row under Zinedine Zidane.

Modric has also won the Ballon d’Or since moving from Tottenham, helping Croatia reach the World Cup final.

Jermain Defoe, Christian Eriksen, Georges-Kevin Nkoudou and Kyle Walker have all added league titles to their trophies this season, while Spurs finished seventh in the Premier League.

On Saturday, Spurs saw Kyle Walker add a 119th trophy to the roster when Manchester City face Chelsea in the Champions League final.

This shows exactly why Harry Kane wants to leave the club at the end of the season, as he hopes to win the silverware.

He may be influenced by the news on Thursday that the club wants to bring Mauricio Pochettino back to replace Jose Mourinho.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *